red letter day

For what was supposed to be a somewhat euphoric event, my resignation day hasn’t turned out so great.

Even by normal standards, it was already a pretty crap day at work when I get a call from my dad that my mum’s been admitted to hospital again. I was just telling Grace the other day that this was the best CNY we’ve had for awhile cause Mummy’s not been warded….yet.

My mum’s not in the best of health, and does have the occasional hospital stay, but CNY seems to always trigger something. This time it’s pneumonia, we think.

This is why I quit my job — Dad’s retiring in a couple of years, Mum’s not well, Bro’s starting his own family, I’m still in debt with my tuition fee loan — I need something a bit more stable that pays the bills, plus a little extra (at least got bonus), than being in TV production. Of course, hopefully it’s something I can see myself enjoying as well. Right now, I’d really like to join the NLB as a Library Professional (Metadata). We’ll see how that pans out (fingers crossed). I’ve taken the first step, and things can only get better.

End of the year, I’m taking my big, fat bonus and taking Mummy to a nice beach where the breeze is balmy and the waters clear. We’ll sit in the sun, warm and serene like crocodiles, until the water in Mummy’s lungs evaporate and drink iced tea till her liver softens again.

5 Responses to “red letter day”


  1. 1 disko February 4, 2006 at 0:10

    i heart you dear boy.

  2. 2 toysrevil February 4, 2006 at 2:45

    dun mean to suddenly start leaving comments from out of the blue, but sincerely, here’s wishing your mum the best of health … and for your exciting days to come on the workfront.

    andy

  3. 3 moby February 4, 2006 at 17:57

    hey bro…

    sorry to hear about your mom…send her my best regards…here’s to her speedy recovery…

    i heart you too man. haha. cheers. =)

  4. 4 Billy February 4, 2006 at 23:40

    Thanks for the concern, guys. Really.

  5. 5 laur February 5, 2006 at 16:49

    and I wish you hope mingling with the sea breeze!


Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


