Songbird tonight!

Songbird is supposedly launching tonight. Its touted as the Firefox of media players, so open source geeks take note. Quite exciting – I’ll be giving it a whirl as soon as I can.
Thanks to TechCrunch for the heads-up.

Here’s a tasty screenshot to whet your appetites first.

update:

Have had a proper go at the thing, first impressions –

  • It looks bloody gorgeous, much like the Darth Vader to iTunes’ Stormtrooper
  • The library is nicely implemented, making it super quick to find exactly the song you want.
  • The various bundled services are a good idea, with sites like Pitchfork, Odeo and Shoutcast already in the left sidebar. Basically Songbird is a media browser, so you can basically use it as a web browser – which brings me to my next point…
  • The sweetest feature is when you browse a site with mp3s, Songbird automatically detects it and pops up a window at the bottom, with options to play, download, subscribe (RSS, i presume), add to library/playlist, burn to CD and copy to device. Which is a damn good feature for someone who gets his tunes from mp3blogs as much as I do.

Problem is, this is only a proof-of-concept release, and it’s buggy as hell.

  • It crashed within 5 minutes of launching. All I did was switch to the miniplayer view and back. Not really very stable.
  • Bloated as hell, it’s slow slow slow. Other than library navigation, everything else is practically crawling.
  • Making my Firefox incredibly sluggish if I run both together. Browsing is slow and Web browser or not, I’m not ditching Firefox.
  • Doesn’t detect my crappy Samsung Yepp. Not surprised, it doesn’t even have iPod support yet. But this might be more a legal problem than anything.
  • Doesn’t recognise all my mp3s as well. Well, they pop up in the library, but can’t play.
  • Can’t edit the id3 tags!! What’s up with that?! My shit is all over the place! Not good.

So it’s not an iTunes killer… yet. But I believe it will be. Just gotta wait for the alpha release, beta release than a final, stable release…

But so far, it’s very encouraging – they’re implementing some very cool ideas, and it looks uber-cool. There’s a crapload of kinks, but they’re only to be expected. All in all, I think Songbird is going to be a player to be reckoned with when it goes beta.

But like I mentioned, there’s going to be legal problems holding them back as well. DRM, Apple disapproval and the like. It remains to be seen, but I think if they can overcome the whole DRM crapfest, iTunes and WMplayer are going to go the way of Internet Explorer.

1 Response to “Songbird tonight!”



  1. 1 experian Trackback on May 24, 2006 at 8:55

Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


