zero point one

I’m upgrading myself to Billy Tan version 0.1 as of last Thursday – still in beta, mind – cos I’m finally re-entering the workforce. Yeah, I got a job. Yay.

I’m going to be an English teacher with MOE.

Don’t congratulate me yet, please. I’m still trying to get my head around it. Plus I’m not exactly the type who grew up wanting to nurture young minds. Au contraire, mon ami, I always thought I’d be the type to corrupt young minds. Damn.

I know I’ve been going on about becoming a librarian ad nauseum, but it’s just not happening. I fought the good fight, but I don’t think I can afford to sit around another 2 months sending out applications with the situation at home as it is. Much as I think I’d like to be a librarian, I don’t think I’ll have the chance to find out anytime soon. Bit of synchronicity happening, just came across this guy.

So if I want to pay off my debts, support my family, and eventually afford a Masters, I’ll need a good, well-paying, stable job. And teaching fits the bill right now.

Yes, I’m selling out and taking the one job that will take me on the basis of my not-too-bad results and a single 10 minute interview. I don’t want to sound ungrateful, but it’s no wonder why there’s a stigma attached to being a teacher nowadays. Its almost like any fool off the street can be responsible for your child’s education. Granted, a year of NIE and the 3 year bond will definitely weed out the pretenders, but the selection process can hardly be described as rigorous. The stigma remains, and I’m sure as hell feeling it now. The interviewer asked me if this was a stopgap measure, I told him there’s no way I can give him a totally honest answer. How would I know til I’m in the job, innit? In any case, I’m committed to it, and I know I’m up to it.

Happily enough, kids seem to like me, and I get along with them fine. At least, it’ll be a nice change from crazy ad agency execs and publicity-mad jewellery designers. No more soulless corporate videos or vacuous style-documentaries. I might actually have a chance to make a difference of some kind in someone’s life. How’s that for a meaningful career?

So it really comes down to this:

Will I enjoy the job, I dunno. Will I teach the hell out of those kids, hell yes.

Don’t worry, my England not bad.

5 Responses to “zero point one”


  1. 1 moby April 17, 2006 at 23:25

    congrats bro…i’m happy that you got the job…i’m really looking forward to our free beer this week. haha. but seriously…be nice to all those adolescent schoolgirls with fishnet stockings…i mean, school kids. hahaha. cheers. =)

  2. 2 Lounge Lizard April 19, 2006 at 12:46

    Sibei steady ar!!!

  3. 3 BlackSnow April 19, 2006 at 23:03

    I cannot compromise on teaching. Really can’t. It’s just too difficult (for me to even like teaching).

  4. 4 Ivan Chew April 21, 2006 at 1:52

    Hi Billy, I think there’s a difference between “being in a job with a title ‘Librarian'” and “Being a Librarian”. In brief, the former is a word while the latter is an attitude. 🙂 BTW, it’s good that you don’t set undue expectations about enjoying the job but I’d caution against saying you’ll teach the hell out of somebody. I’ve got friends who enter teaching only to get disillusioned bec. they feel the kids don’t want to learn. But then I think, “hey they’re kids! We’ve been there and done that too!”. So maybe it’s not so much to “teach the hell out of kids” but to first find what is meaningful in teaching. Then maybe things (like job satisfaction etc) will come naturally. DISCLAIMER: I’ve never been a teacher (and if I did I might turn out to be a lousy one) so take this with a pinch of salt. Good luck, and try to keep up the book reviews if you can!

  5. 5 mis_nomer April 24, 2006 at 18:18

    Hi! All the best in the new job! I am a library fan too and when I didn’t get a place with NLB, I was all humpphity about it; but you’re right, can’t sit around and do nothing. Maybe I’ll become an English teacher too 😉


Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


