52 Books TRL

Elaine left a comment on my last review asking how I select books to review. Seeing as to how I’ve managed to get halfway through the year without slipping up too much, I thought it’d be good to go into it a little bit.

Well, like I told her, its mostly just 10 seconds of thin-slicing per book, looking at the cover and blurbs. This highly scientific process seems to work well enough. I fall back occasionally on favourite authors (eg. Cory Doctorow) or award winning titles (eg. Lunar Park). I’ve only fallen back on hype just the once, but once is enough, methinks.

One problem I have, I think, is the tendency to stick with genres I know I enjoy. You haven’t seen any crime novels or romantic comedies on my blog, I’m sure. Mostly, its a lot of sci-fi, war and drama. While this selectivity obviously prevents me from reading what I think is crap, it might also be a little limiting. So what I’m asking is for recommendations and suggestions.

I know most of you are my friends and really couldn’t be arsed, but if the miniscule trickle of you coming in from High Browse Online or just stumbling across my blog would like to point out something I should read, it’d be great. Please, no massive tomes though, I may be not be a busy man, but keep it to something digestable within a week. Thanks in advance.

On a related side note: how sweet are these Tetris shelves!? I’m going to be buying more books as my income becomes more substantial, and my personal library would look absolutely kickass on these shelves. Cept they don’t look very adequate for book-stacking. But who cares, its Tetris!

 


6 Responses to “52 Books TRL”


  1. 1 avalon July 3, 2006 at 15:42

    Wah thanks for sharing. No wonder all your books look so cheem: I don’t read much scifi or war books.

    The only scifi I know are thru my Calvin, because that is all he reads: Peter F Hamilton, Terry Goodkind, Frank Herbert, H G Wells, Tad Williams, and no I have not successfully read them but feel free to try them if you haven’t already.

    If you like war and drama you probably might like historical lit too. I liked very much Peter Carey’s True History of the Kelly Gang, about Ned Kelly of Australia. It is not a non-fiction essay, but rather a story brilliantly told through the tongue of Kelly himself, if he were to write it, that is.

    To try and ease yourself into anything faintly romantic, you could try Haruki Murakami as he fuses weird scifi shit into it too, but it is not as hardcore as the real sf. He barely explains it completely, merely conceptually. If you wanna start, try Sputnik Sweetheart, Hardboiled Wonderland, Wind-up Bird Chronicle, or Kafka on the Shore. Norwegian Wood is more depressive and lovey so I don’t recommend it if you can’t bear it, ditto South of the Border.

    What is TRL? Tampines Regional Library?

  2. 2 billy July 3, 2006 at 15:45

    ahem, that would be Total Request Live. stupid MTV joke. thanks for the suggestions!

  3. 3 avalon July 4, 2006 at 0:27

    heh. I don’t watch MTV that’s why I don’t know.

  4. 4 Lounge Lizard July 6, 2006 at 18:33

    Read rock stars’ biographies… I did. Quite interesting.

  5. 5 Samantha July 8, 2006 at 9:23

    I totally need to get me those shelves. Seriously, two addictions in one, couldn’t get better!

    I assume because you like war novels that you have read Ibuse’s Black Rain. If you haven’t, then you should. Murakami is great as well, even if a little strange.

  6. 6 lattidsweaxia July 16, 2011 at 5:51

    8 июл 2007 Английская диета – эффективная, полезная, несложная.
    Все для похудения на одном сайте, секрты похудения, интересные и легкие в применении диеты. Как без труда можно похудеть, не утомляя себя изнурительными
    Диеты – разновидности диет и их принцып. Кремлевская диета , японская диета, зимняя, диета Аткинса.
    Последние косметические средства, женская мода 2010, самые эффективные диеты, новости мировой моды, стиль, шопинг, советы экспертов, мода сезона 2009,
    диеты, как похудеть, упражнения, фитнес, красивая фигура, гадания.


Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


