no more reveille for me

Now that I’m supposed to be all teacher-like and whatnot, articles like this begin to catch my eye. It helps when I think I totally agree, of course.

Kids trudge through the week on insufficient sleep, barely limp to the finish line on Fridays, use the weekends to pay off the week’s sleep debt by snoozing until noon and then try to readjust their body clocks on Monday morning. Prof. Jim Moss, a sleep expert at Cornell, says: “It’s as if at the start of every week our kids have West Coast to East Coast jet lag.” He finds that in the early morning classroom “the overwhelming drive to sleep can replace any chance of alertness, cognition, memory or understanding.”

And we also know that later school start times can reduce this affliction. Amy Wolfson, a professor at Holy Cross who studies Americans’ sleep patterns, tells me: “The evidence is pretty clear that students in the later-starting schools get more sleep and have less tardiness, fewer behavior problems, and do somewhat better in school.”

I actually like starting classes at 830am in the morning as opposed to starting work at 10am back in my old job, but I think 730am assembly at secondary schools is pretty freaking crazy. TOM CRUISE CRAZY.

0 Responses to “no more reveille for me”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


