five questions

It’s not everyday I get tagged, so what the hell, here goes…

1. Why do you blog?
This blog started off as a way to document my job search after quitting tv earlier this year, but since I found a new job pretty quickly, this has become more a storehouse of information and fragments of my incessant web-surfing. Some posts about my family are a little more personal, but they exist on the blog to help remind me of significant events. I try to be a little original once a week and come up with a book review – I’m thinking of switching to a new project when my 52 books are finally up, so that ought to be fun.

2. Which author and/or book has most influenced you?
This is one of those impossible questions, innit? I’ve devoured books non-stop for close to 2 decades now and its pretty nigh-impossible to narrow it down to any one author or book. I can list a few authors who’ve pretty much defined my reading though – Philip K. Dick, William Gibson, Douglas Coupland and Stephen King. What sets these writers apart are not so much how I’ve enjoyed reading them, but how much I aspire to write like them as well.

3. Which three blogs do you most visit?
Gizmodo.com I love tech and I like taking the piss, and Gizmodo manages to combine both these things in a convenient, constantly-updated, piss-taking, tech-loving package. I like my tech news instantaneous, and it pleases me no end when the Apple store guy expresses surprise at my shockingly up-to-the-minute questioning. C’mon, doesn’t everyone stay up reading live-bloggings of Apple keynotes?

Pink is the New Blog Back at my old job, the staff was pretty much divided thus – those who read Pink, and those I wouldn’t hang out with outside of work. Yes, I know celeb gossip is both very gay and ultimately counter-productive, but goddam if I can’t get my daily dosage of Spederline shizz.

Warrenellis.com I can only wish that one day I’ll be as twisted as Warren Ellis, the sickest comics writer ever to troll the internets. I began my previous blog in emulation of his mutated, icky weirdness, but I’m plenty happy just to let him own my ass.

4. Why do you read fiction?
There’s no way of putting this without sounding trite, but fiction sometimes takes me away, and sometimes it brings me back. That pretty much sums it up.

5. What makes you laugh?
Mostly Grace, but oftentimes its friends, comics, cartoons, movies or blogs. I laugh at myself a fair bit, which is mostly healthy, I think.

Ok, that took a little longer than I expected. Thanks to Josh for the tag – I’m not tagging anyone, but feel free to try if you’d like.

5 Responses to “five questions”


  1. 1 disko October 2, 2006 at 8:35

    awwww baby. yes i think i’m pretty funny too. most times when i don’t pms, or ocd.

  2. 2 viatch October 2, 2006 at 11:18

    Grace… when you have PMS… i do not dare to look you in the eyes:d

    LOL

  3. 3 disko October 3, 2006 at 12:01

    sorry babe haha, yeah, my face damn black one.


  1. 1 the writing life « zerotwohero Trackback on October 1, 2006 at 12:37
  2. 2 open letter to you. « diskographik Trackback on October 2, 2006 at 9:22

Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


