Maps – Yeah Yeah Yeahs

My iTunes threw this song up at random, so I decided to dig up the videos on youtube.

I started off being a little afraid of Karen O, what with her crazy leg-breaking antics live, but then I saw her crying in this video and immediately fell madly in love with her. I’m still pretty scared of her though. Cos she’s freaking Karen O, man, she’s not afraid of you and will kick your ass.

As expected, the acoustic version emphasises the sheer prettiness of the song. That said, what makes the song is really the drums, so I still prefer the studio version. Karen O’s subdued performance is different here and that goofy hearts top is freaking adorable.

MTV Music Awards are usually less rock-centric these days, and I remember this performance as one of the more recent ones that I really really enjoyed. The giant garden and soft focus combined with Karen O’s demented elf performance really coalesce to make this pretty damn perfect.

I’ve always been obsessed with finding the perfect pop song, and Maps is as close to that as I’ve heard in a long, long time. Warren Ellis puts it best though,

But “Maps”: “Wait. They don’t love you like I love you.” If that doesn’t knock you flat, you’re already dead.

4 Responses to “Maps – Yeah Yeah Yeahs”


  1. 1 Big Fuzz November 21, 2006 at 16:00

    God I love this song. I like that it’s so noisy, but there’s the deep heartbreak in it.

  2. 2 billy November 21, 2006 at 17:46

    Exactly, man. It’s got these incredibly tender lyrics, but the melody is really all percussion, even the guitar and vocals. its just beat, beat, beat, all the way.

  3. 3 pagit November 24, 2006 at 1:10

    she’s on nme’s top 10 coolest musician & i bet her insane behaviour has got lots to do with it.
    she damn chio, hor?

  4. 4 disko November 27, 2006 at 0:42

    i think she’s chio too! in fact, i think you resemble her leh!


Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


