52 Books: Epilogue

So I pretty much made it to the end without much fuss or drama – I’m actually at about 55 books not counting the many serial online novels I read this year. Not that tough lah. Though admittedly, I deliberately went for easy-reading as far as possible so I wouldn’t have too much of a backlog. Sometimes I’d read 3 short books in a row and read nothing for the next 3 weeks. Also, part of the point of this project was to get my own writing cogs oiled up and do a little creative writing myself. Unfortunately I’ve been spectacularly unproductive in that respect.

In any case, here’s a little post-mortem for 52 Books, 52 Weeks:

Favourite fiction book:
Peeps by Scott Westerfeld

Favourite non-fiction book:
Blink by Malcolm Gladwell

Pros:

  1. I’ve got a great reference for everything I’ve read so far. I stopped forgetting what books I’ve read and re-borrowing stuff.
  2. Publishing reviews forced me to be a better writer, and to think a little harder about what I’ve absorbed. I did cop out a couple of times though.
  3. I read a little more non-fiction than I’m used to, and I’ve rather enjoyed it.
  4. I definitely read a lot more than usual this year – always a good thing to read more.
  5. It got this blog Tomorrowed, and High Browse Online-d, which was very very cool.
  6. People came by to say hello cos of the reviews, and I made a couple of friends online as a result.
  7. I got to plug some books and writers I really enjoyed – usually I feel pretentious telling people about good books. This was a good workaround.
  8. People now think I’m smarter than I really am, which is the whole point, really.
  9. It was fun!

Cons:

  1. I passed on a lot of books I really wanted to read only because they were too long.
  2. Now I’ve becoming a bigger bibliophile, I’m going to start buying books. I’ll still go to the library, but I’ll buy the authors I like. It’ll be like downloading a single first and buying the CD later. Er, this means I’ll be spending more money – not good.
  3. The reviews got a little too much like homework at some point.

On the whole, I’d say it was easily worth the time, but I won’t be continuing next year. That is to say, I will be reading craploads as usual, I just won’t confine it to a book a week, I might end up reading more, who’s to say? I’ll still post reviews though, or maybe just some notes. Reading some really good hard scifi this year’s inspired me to get up to speed on some hard science as well, so I’ll be taking my own sweet time going through a couple of tomes this year.

I’ve put the whole year of reviews in a new Reads page for easy reference.

3 Responses to “52 Books: Epilogue”


  1. 1 JV December 31, 2006 at 21:47

    Great.

    Exactly that what I have felt. In order to publish review I read carefully and has improved my writing.

    I am also planning something like that..52 books : 52 books …here wiill be prologue in my case..

  2. 2 toysrevil January 1, 2007 at 4:46

    well done, dude 🙂

  3. 3 Ng Yi-Sheng February 25, 2007 at 23:42

    Dude, that’s not hard-core reading… I’ve got my own project to record the books I read every month, and I never settle for fewer than 8.

    http://lastboy2005.blogspot.com/search/label/books

    Still, I don’t post reviews of them all.


Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


