Royal De Luxe: The Saga of the Giants

I remember being utterly amazed by the coverage (mostly of the citizen journalist variety) of The Sultan’s Elephant last year, but hadn’t seen a proper video or read a proper write-up until this excellent article on 3quarksdaily.

Julian Crouch, a maker of large site-specific images and co-artistic director of the company Improbable, writes of seeing the Elephant move for the first time. “The thing was real. It was alive and it was enormous and it was really there. And in the midst of my pure admiration I could feel something crumble inside me.” What crumbled, it turned out, was his notion of how unfeasible it was trying to get a large image to do many things at once instead of just one thing – a idea foundational to his twenty years of experience designing and making such.

With frankness, Crouch tells how it felt to be a maker of theatre watching Little Girl Giant hoisted from the time capsule that had smashed down onto the tarmac in Central London. “When they lifted [her] out of the rocket, the crowd just gasped. Of course I work in ‘the business’ so I tried to stifle my own gasp, but by the time her flying-hat was off and she blinked and shook out her hair, I was absolutely and completely lost. She was beautiful. But really beautiful. In a deep way… And [there was] a little voice in my head that said, ‘you could never, ever have made this.’ ”

I’m not usually given to sentimentalism but I feel almost physically upset that I’m not likely to ever see a Royal De Luxe show in person. For now, this will have to do…

1 Response to “Royal De Luxe: The Saga of the Giants”


  1. 1 toms shoes June 21, 2013 at 23:00

    What a pleasant YouTube video it is! Remarkable, I loved it, and I am sharing this YouTube film with all my colleagues Royal De Luxe: The Saga of the Giants | zerotwohero.


Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


