here come the fuzz

Just watched Hot Fuzz, and it’s easily the best film I’ve seen (will see) this year. Forget Die Hard 4 and Transformers, boys and girls, this is the most handsdownballsup awesomest action movie I’ve ever seen, as well as the most sincere, funny homage to American cop flicks ever. I hate Martin Lawrence and Will Smith in at least fifty different ways, but I’m itching to rent Bad Boyz II now simply because of Hot Fuzz‘s lovingly recreated shots. I’ve always loved Point Break, so no issue there. Director Edgar Wright claims to have watched every cop movie ever made, and I totally believe him.

There’re so many throwaway bits and jokes that I pretty much lost it for the second half of the movie. My favourite bit is the blinkandyou’llmissit “Ding Dong!” in the first of the 4 (count ’em) final showdowns. In case I’m not really making sense, its cos I want that you should watch the film yourself. Hot Fuzz is definitely going up in my permanent Top 5 films now.

3 Responses to “here come the fuzz”


  1. 1 airhole July 2, 2007 at 1:22

    ditto! best damn movie i watched this year.

    I need to watch it again, to catch the jokes i missed while i was laughing at the jokes i didn’t miss.

    I think I made everyone in the theatre sick of me, cos i just laughed too loud and too often…

    shriek!!

  2. 2 yupgi July 2, 2007 at 11:12

    Nope i haven’t seen this yet – and wasn’t planning to. But if it can make you overcome your hatred for Martin Lawrence (or at least forget it enough to rent BBII), I think I’m going to give it a shot. Or else it’s Transformers…


Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


