zero point two

My gamble of leaving production and becoming a teacher is beginning to show signs of paying off. I say gamble of course, with regards both to the 3-year bond and of my inexorable interpellation with the system. I loathe to identify with authority, which is something that still weighs down my efficacy as a teacher on a daily basis.

In any case, I went for a work retreat yesterday to discuss future plans for a very specific area of study in school, and I was given an opportunity to hold forth on something for which I am right now immensely passionate. It’s almost stupidly lucky that my direct superior and I are on exactly the same page about this; although we only managed to confuse everyone else with our attempts to explain our ideas, I think our enthusiasm was pretty much enough to convince them of both the necessity of our action and the worthiness of our cause. Unfortunately, I have to be cryptic because of confidentiality issues, for now at least.

I say my gamble has paid off because I’ve somehow maneuvered myself into the exact right place and time in relation to my desired professional and academic future. I think I’m situated at a position where I can do the most good not only for myself, but – uncharacteristically enough for me – the good of Singapore education as well.

The amazing thing is how easy and natural it’s been so far; the even more amazing thing is how difficult it’s going to be in the coming months and how I’m absolutely fucking looking forward to it.

4 Responses to “zero point two”


  1. 1 farah September 22, 2007 at 22:17

    I’m extremely curious as to what this is all about.. Anyway, hope it works out as you envision.

  2. 2 Lounge Lizard September 23, 2007 at 21:10

    You need a beer!!!

  3. 3 wani October 2, 2007 at 10:44

    wow..ur so optimistic! my direct sup is an old unmarried lady who started teaching the yr i was born and she sux, so LUCKY u!!

  4. 4 Ivan Chew October 6, 2007 at 13:51

    Good for you. But you sure you ought to be using the F-word in your posts? heh.


Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


