new york i love u, but u’re bringing me down: part 4

Finally made it down to the American Museum of Natural History today. Been antsing to go since seeing the Squid and the Whale. Unfortunately, no more titanic struggle between leviathans exist, and its just the (admittedly impressive) Whale.

I did find a pretty big, if not very dynamically sculptured squid.

In any case, what I really loved was the Space Show at the adjacent Rose Center for Earth and Space. Bit of a plug here:

A spectacular immersive theater experience, Cosmic Collisions launches visitors on a thrilling trip through space and time—well beyond the calm face of the night sky—to explore cosmic collisions, hypersonic impacts that drive the dynamic and continuing evolution of the universe.

I was actually kinda moved watching it. Serious, you guys gotta check it out.

All in all, I spent about 6 hours at the AMNH; here’re some highlights:


At the lobby.


Caribou!


Moose havin’ at it.


Check out Rex’s little birdy arms. Awww….


Ahnighito, world’s 3rd largest meteorite mass.


They also had Saturn but I was really looking for Uranus. Hur hur.

So after the museum closed, I decided it was high time to do the tourist thing and went to take photos at Times Square and Rockefeller.


All this blatant consumption.


There it is, this year’s tree. Ok only lah.


Asked a lady to take my picture, but she cut off the top of the tree. Anyhow one.


Me at the rink. Seems like all New Yorkers do at Xmas is go ice-skating.


Looks pretty good at night.


Random shot of me and Taro the cat (our 4th housemate). He keeps jumping on me when I try to nap. He actually jumped off a 22″ CRT on a desk onto my chest when I was lying on the floor. But he’s really friendly lah. Not amenable to photographs though.

4 Responses to “new york i love u, but u’re bringing me down: part 4”


  1. 1 disko December 14, 2007 at 2:51

    i hate to be the first to comment all the time, but damn nice vans.
    i like the stuffed animals / after the interpol album art.

  2. 2 pagit December 16, 2007 at 2:02

    shit woman! you just beat me to it. i was just about to leave a comment about his footwear too! we’re bff’s alright (bimbo friends forevah)

    yeah, me liketh yer vans too!

    i also have to say, you’re making NY seem a whole lot better than i remember it to be.

  3. 3 disko December 16, 2007 at 23:33

    ha ha ha!
    his vans do seem kinda pristine after your stained ones.
    BFF forevaa

  4. 4 Masha Lopatova August 25, 2014 at 23:46

    It’s amazing in favor of me to have a site, which is beneficial in favor of my experience.
    thanks admin


Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


