seastars2007

I know I haven’t reviewed anything for yonks, not cause I haven’t been reading (I have) but I just couldn’t be arsed lately, what with work and all.

But lo! The Rambling Librarian has asked me to review his (and this guy’s) spanking new album, SeaStars 2007! I just realised I’m not sure whether that refers to the band or the album. The band is called Starfish Stories. Download the album for yourself here.
Anyway… here’s what I think:

The album in a nutshell – wispy synths, straightforward piano, quite emo lead guitar (sometimes bordering on hair-metal, which is a good thing), and kinda cheesy sea-related sound effects (like dolphins and waves), all very new-agey and inoffensive. Bordering, actually mostly crossing the line over to sleepytime music.

I like myself some ambient from time to time, but I think people tend more to slit their wrists to Enya more than Aphex Twin. Did that last line make any sense? I have to say though, I did kinda like the guitar overdubs in Stargazer, but that’s probably my inner 80s hair metal fan talking.

In any case, the problem I have with new age music is that it’s pretty much meant to be unobtrusive background music. So I listened to the album 3 times through and spaced out each time. I just can’t actively listen to and appreciate something that’s constantly slipping and sliding out of my conscious brain. So if that was the plan – good job, guys. I’m pretty sure there’s a market for this in the yoga or spa music business, if it exists, that is.

But I’m just a punkrockertechnofreakdiscogrooverpostrocker at heart, and much prefer something I can dance to.

2 Responses to “seastars2007”


  1. 1 Ivan Chew January 3, 2008 at 22:32

    Thanks Billy. Three times??? Wow, thanks x 2! And I could sense that you were holding yourself back from saying that the album didn’t quite cut it, hahah. But I jest. It’s cool. Your review. Really appreciate you helping to review and give comments. CD is yours (as the Red Hot Chilli Peppers song goes, “give it away” if you don’t want it hahaha). Cheers!

  2. 2 Lounge Lizard January 9, 2008 at 14:25

    I need some reviews for Aging Youth…


Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


