new york i love u, but u’re bringing me down: part 5

Today has been a total bum day. Was planning to do the Guggenheim, take a 3 hour ferry ride, then do the Empire State at dusk. But the weather screwed me over before even breakfast. And it didn’t even have the decency to snow properly, instead it was rain and sleet all day long. I”m like no problem, I can postpone the ferry ride, do the Guggenheim and do Empire State after 6pm, which is when it supposed to stop raining.

So I take the subway up to 86th, cross 3 blocks, up another block and find that the Guggenheim is closed on Thursdays and Xmas. Shit.

So I walk another few blocks in the sleet to the Met again, since I was planning to cover the rest of it at some point anyway. Not half bad, I rediscover the Arms and Armor section, which I totally dug from the last time and dug again this time round. Also, it was unbelievably lucky that I got to see a Damien Hirst piece that I’ve always been curious about, The Physical Impossibility of Death in the Mind of Someone Living. That at least was a huge treat. No photographs were allowed unfortunately. Just google it lah.

Some highlights from the Met:


Japan vs Europe. Basically Gundam vs idunnowat.


Rodin’s The Thinker. Little guy.


Very nice setup.


Yeah, I think that’s the original Van Gogh. Or maybe not. I wouldn’t know, really.


Mäda Primavesi by Gustav Klimt.


Spectrum V by Ellsworth Kelly. It was too wide for me to get it straight on.


Huge Jackson Pollock piece. Forgot to note the title.

So its still pissing cats and dogs when I’m done, so I decide to go to the nearby Whitney Museum, highly recommended by Gillian. I rather enjoyed it, especially the Lawrence Wiener stuff. He designed New Order posters!

I was done eventually at 430, with another hour and a half to kill before the end of the rain. So I make my way through the sleet to 34th and have dinner and wait for the rain to clear. I finish dinner a bit too quickly and so cross the street to a comics store and kill some time. I finally make it back out at 7pm and the rain’s stopped. I walk to where the line for the elevator up is and the sign says:

WAIT TIME: 0 min, VISIBILITY: 0 miles. DECK IS CLOSED.

So now I’m back and waiting for either of my hosts to get back so I know where to get my laundry done. Cos according to weather.com, tomorrow’s going to be sunny and I’m gonna do my tourist shit, goddamit.

0 Responses to “new york i love u, but u’re bringing me down: part 5”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

broadcast

del.icio.us


